PCC ignites the spirit of sportsmanship

Anticipation and excitement filled the jam-packed covered court of Pines City Colleges (PCC) as the opening of Intramurals 2016 kicked off last September with a parade of contingents from the non-teaching staff to the faculty and athletes of the different colleges.

The Masters of Ceremony were Mr. Tristen Alan Mazo and Ms. Leidee Avery Taluban.

Mr. Jonie Leung introduced the guest speaker, An education Specialist Supervisor II in CHED, Mr. Christopher Depnag. He inspired the spectators as he an insipiring story about a great athelete who undergo plenty of training, has discipline, sacrifice, and self confidence. He challenged the athletes dot be only physically educated but they have to transcend to become physically literate. Mr. Depnag also quoted a coach from the National Collegiate Athletic Association(NCAA), John Wooden, “ winning is different from success“ ,” being successful means having a peace of mind attained only through self satisfaction knowing you made the effort to do the best which you are capable” said Mr. Depnag.

The excitement heightened with the declaration of the opening of Intramurals by the VP of Academic Affairs, Dr. Abigail T. Bersamin. She emphasized that commitment indeed is needed by the athletes and players in every competition.

The event continued with the Pulling of Flags by the Department players, followed by the Oath of Amateurism led by Silver Medalist Wushu athlete Mr. Ares Langcato, and the lighting of the torch by Ms. Ysabel Louise Y. Bueno PCC Womens Basketball and Mr. Kenneth Barry D. Patawaran Table Tennis Team Captains(BBEAL).

Modern music filled the entire court as the most awaited event of the morning started – the Cheer Dance Competition. Participants amazed the crowd as they performed their electrifying dance routines with intensity, confidence, and pride. Loud applause filled the venue as the students cheered for their respective colleges. The judges were Mr. Mark Epler, Mrs. Melonie Binay-an, and Mr Cedric Fang.

Everyone was anxious as the awarding took place. It was a close fight between three colleges, but the College of Dentistry was victorious in grabbing the championship title, 1st Place is College of Tourism and Hospitality management, 2nd is College of Pharmacy

The playoffs started this September and will be until December.